Lions finish sixth at 2010 MSSU Spring Invitational

Joplin, Mo. -- The Missouri Southern golf team shot an identical 309 from day one on the final round, but fell two spots to sixth at the 2010 MSSU Spring Invitational today at Twin Hills Golf and Country Club in Joplin. 

David Eddy was the Lions low score yesterday, shooting an even par 72, but he struggled in day two and shot an 80 to finish tied for ninth at 152. Jamie Voegeli improved by three strokes and the Lions' low round of the day today with a 75 to finish with a two-day 153. Stephen Boyd improved four strokes and Seve Smith five as the two shot a 156 and 161, respectively. Andy Hogenmiller had a tough day and shot an 83 to finish with a two-round 162. 

The Lions gold team finished 12th in the team standings, but improved its day-two total by 14 strokes, shooting a 313 on the day. Taylor Griffith finished tied for 14th with a 153, while Chris Needham and Jared Essary improved by six and four strokes, respectively to shoot a two-day 158. Adam Nelson improved by five strokes in day two to shoot a 171. 

Central Missouri improved their day-two team total by 16 strokes to take the team title with a 604, just one stroke in front of Northeastern State (605). Southwestern Oklahoma had the individual medal winner as Ben Claussen shot a two-under par today to finish with a two-day total of 145 and the Bulldogs finished just two strokes behind Central at 606. 

Southwest Baptist was fourth, followed by Fort Hays, Southern, Truman, Washburn, Lincoln, Missouri Western, Pittsburg State and the Lions gold team. 

This was the third MIAA points event of the year with the MIAA Tournament left to count for double points and Central Missouri has won all three events and lead the Lions by six points. Below are the updated MIAA golf standings heading into the 2010 MIAA Golf Tournament next week at Tiffany Greens Golf Club in Kansas City. 

1. Central Missouri - 24
2. Missouri Southern - 18
3. Washburn - 16
4. Southwest Baptist - 14
5. Fort Hays - 12
6. Missouri Western - 11
7. Truman - 8
8. Pittsburg State - 5