Lions have seven named All-MIAA

Kansas City, Kan. -- The Missouri Southern baseball team had seven players named All-MIAA, the league announced today as the team gathered in Kansas City for the second round of the 2013 MIAA Baseball Tournament inside CommunityAmerica Ballpark. 

Leading the way for the Lions were a trio of players that were listed as second-team All-MIAA. Seniors Brett Abell, Sam Ryan and Michael McCoy were picked at their respective positions. Abell set the Missouri Southern single-season record this year for strikeouts as he sits with 98 on the season, tops in the MIAA. He is fourth all-time in career strikeouts with 182, just 24 from the school record. 

Ryan ranks ninth in the MIAA in doubles with a team-high 15, while hitting .328 with four home runs and 32 RBIS, and leading the team in stolen bases with 12. McCoy ranks sixth in the MIAA in hits with 69, while leading the league in at bats with 205 and ranking second in total plate appearances with 224. 

Pitchers Ryan Bates and Payton Walker, as well as outfielers Dallas Burke and Will Wagner were all named honorable mention. Bates led the Lions' pitchers with seven wins and was third in the MIAA in the category. Walker ranked third in the MIAA in ERA with a 2.89 mark and was second on the team with six wins and was one of the best freshman in the league. Burke led the Lions with a .345 batting average and ranked third in the league in walks. Wagner led the Lions in home runs with seven and RBIs with 37. 

Missouri Western took three of the four yearly awards as Michael Schulze was Player of the Year, Brandon Simmons was the Pitcher of the Year and Buzz Verduzco was the Coach of the Year. Nebraska-Kearney was the league's Freshman of the Year.

The complete All-MIAA team is listed below. 

Player of the Year: Michael Schulze, SS, Missouri Western
Pitcher of the Year: Brandon Simmons, P, Missouri Western
Freshman of the Year: Anthony Pacheco, OF, Nebraska-Kearney
Coach of the Year: Buzz Verduzco, Missouri Western

First Team
Starting Pitcher: Edgar Lopez, Sr., Central Oklahoma
Starting Pitcher: Matt Stalcup, Sr., Pittsburg State 
Starting Pitcher: Brandon Simmons, Sr., Missouri Western
Relief Pitcher: Andrew Urban, Sr., Central Missouri
Catcher: Chase Graskewicz, Sr., Central Missouri
First Base: Mike Failoni, Jr., Lindenwood**
Second Base: Jimmy Smelcer, Sr., Missouri Western
Shortstop: Michael Schulze, Jr., Missouri Western**
Third Base: Grant Fink, Sr., Missouri Western**
Outfield: Cody Robinson, Jr., Northeastern State
Outfield: Kevin Gratza, Jr., Central Missouri
Outfield: Bubba Dotson, Sr., Missouri Western
Designated Hitter: Horace Johnson, Jr., Fort Hays State
Utility: Brian Wuest, Sr., Nebraska-Kearney
**= Unanimous Selection

Second Team
Starting Pitcher: Travis Higgs, Jr., Central Missouri
Starting Pitcher: Dakota McKaskle, Jr., Emporia State 
Starting Pitcher: Brett Abell, Sr., Missouri Southern
Relief Pitcher: Trevor Walch, Sr., Northeastern State
Catcher: Sam Ryan, Sr., Missouri Southern
First Base: John Oropeza, Sr., Central Missouri
Second Base: Michael McCoy, Sr., Missouri Southern
Shortstop: Samuel Domingue, Sr., Central Missouri
Third Base: Eric Dawson, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Aaron Rea, Sr., Emporia State
Outfield: Kyle Simpson, Sr., Missouri Western
Outfield: Ryan Abernathy, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Designated Hitter: Eric McGlauflin, Jr., Northwest Missouri
Utility: Kyle Grieshaber, Sr., Central Missouri

Honorable Mention

Starting Pitcher – Ethan Sharp, Central Oklahoma; Tayler Davis, Fort Hays State; Ryan Bates, Missouri Southern; Payton Walker, Missouri Southern; Ryker Fox, Northwest Missouri; George Brandecker, Pittsburg State; Taylor Gentry, Washburn

Relief Pitcher – Jake Heissler, Central Missouri; Logan Hollingsworth, Missouri Western; Ryan McKay, Pittsburg State

Catcher – Mike Wilson, Lindenwood; Jake Schrader, Missouri Western; David Weber, Northeastern State; Jacoby Martin, Pittsburg State

First Base – Spencer Shockley, Missouri Western; Ryan Bilovesky, Pittsburg State; Paul Trenhaile, Truman

Second Base – Jon Cotter, Central Missouri; Blake Sturgeon, Emporia State; Chris Santoscoy, Fort Hays State; Landon Young, Southwest Baptist; Taylor Herrington, Washburn

Shortstop – Cesar Wong, Central Oklahoma; Nathan Pridle, Lindenwood; Kegan Knight, Northeastern State

Third Base – Matt Johnson, Central Oklahoma; Brad Foss, Pittsburg State

Outfield – Tyler Crabtree, Central Oklahoma; Jared Wright, Central Oklahoma; Brad Wilson, Central Missouri; Jordan Slade, Emporia State; Clayton Garland, Fort Hays State; Jordan Miller, Fort Hays State; Colby Shepherd, Lincoln; Wade Rothermich, Lindenwood; Will Wagner, Missouri Southern; Anthony Pacheco, Nebraska-Kearney; Kyle Singleton, Northeastern State; Tory Stoffregen, Pittsburg State; Ryan Ventura, Pittsburg State; Corban Williams, Truman; Parker Gibson, Washburn

Designated Hitter – Matt Malloy, Central Oklahoma

Utility – Ryan Busboom, Fort Hays State; Dallas Burke, Missouri Southern; Nate Ramler, Missouri Western; Blake Marino, Truman