Baseball sweeps Washburn and runs streak to 12

Joplin, Mo. -- The Missouri Southern baseball team swept an MIAA double-header today at home against Washburn, moving its win streak to 12 now, winning 4-1 in the opener and 9-2 in game two. 

Southern (23-11, 17-9 MIAA) picked up a superb performance from Brett Abell in the opener as the senior threw a complete game to move his record to 4-2 on the season. He struck out nine and walked just two, while allowing only one run. The complete game is the fourth in the last six games for him. 

Southern jumped out to a 2-0 lead after one inning in game one, on a pair of sacrifice flies from Sam Ryan and Tee Helsel scoring Michael McCoy and Thomas Wilson

After Washburn (6-22, 6-21 MIAA) scored a run in the third, Abell allowed just three batters to reach in the final four innings. The Lions scored a single run in two separate innings on an RBI single from McCoy in the fifth and an RBI single from Helsel in the sixth. 

Dane Kolkmeyer went 2-3 in the game with a run scored, while McCoy, Wilson, Helsel, Dallas Burke, and Ryan had a hit each. McCoy had a run and an RBI, while Helsel drove in two. 

The Lions had a pair of big innings in game two as Southern scored five in the second and four in the fourth to put away the game. 

Ryan Bates started for Southern and went three and a third, striking out four and walking none, while allowing two earned runs. David Reese pitched four and two thirds of one-hit ball, striking out six and walking none to earn his fourth win of the season. Bo Bergen struck out two in the ninth. 

A bases-clearing triple from McCoy highlighted the scoring in the second, while a three-run home run from Wilson in the fourth put the game away for the Lions. 

McCoy went 2-5 with three RBIs and two runs scored, while Wilson went 3-5 with four driven in and a run scored. Will Wagner went 2-5 with a run, while Nick Dougthty had two hits and an RBI. 

The Lions have won 12 games in a row and that is the fourth-longest win streak in school history (22-1989, 19-1991, 16-1992) and will go for No. 13 tomorrow playing host to Washburn at 1 pm in Joe Becker Stadium.